NASAA Notes: January 2012

January 11, 2012

State Arts Agency Structure within State Government

State arts agencies occupy a wide variety of structural positions within state government. Nearly half of all state arts agencies (22) are independent, reporting directly to the governor. Other state arts agencies are divisions of larger departments such as cultural affairs (9), economic development (7), tourism (3) or the department of state (3).

Fueled by state budget shortfalls as well as political churn, numerous state government restructuring initiatives have been enacted nationwide. Although most of those efforts focused on other aspects of state government, four state arts agencies—Connecticut, Georgia, Nevada and Wisconsin—were reorganized in fiscal year 2012.

Information on the current placement of each state arts agency within state government is available on the NASAA website. NASAA also can supply:

  • Detailed information on how multiagency departments including the arts are organized
  • Guidance on policy factors important to consider when structural reorganization is proposed
  • Tips for agencies facing change

For more information, visit the state arts agency structure section of the NASAA website, review the most recent Major State Arts Agency Budget and Restructuring Actions Log, or contact Kelly Barsdate for assistance.

In this Issue

State to State

Legislative Update

Executive Director's Column

Research on Demand




To receive information regarding updates to our newslettter. Please fill out the form below.