House Committee Unveils NEA Budget, Plans Hearing for Wednesday

House Committee Unveils NEA Budget, Plans Hearing for Wednesday

From: Isaac Brown, Legislative Counsel
Vol. 14:09
July 8, 2014

This morning, the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior and Related Agencies released its draft budget for the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) for fiscal year 2015.

In the bill, the House proposes a figure of $138 million. This figure represents a reduction in funding for the agency of $9 million from current funding. It is also significantly lower than the figure of $155 million that NASAA and other arts advocacy organizations have requested from Congress. While we are certainly disappointed in the proposed figure, it does not come as a surprise, as the House of Representatives has proposed reduced funding for the NEA in each of the past four years.

The House Appropriations Committee has also announced that it will mark up the NEA’s appropriation bill on Wednesday, July 9, at 10:00 a.m. Below is a list of the members who sit on the House Appropriations Committee. If you are represented by a member of the committee, please contact their office as soon as possible and urge that they oppose the House-proposed number and instead support NASAA’s $155 million request. Further, please remind them that 40% of the NEA’s grant funding goes directly to state arts agencies throughout the country. A reduction in funding for the NEA would diminish the ability of these state agencies to support state and local activities such as arts education, rural arts development, creative economic development efforts and programs that make the arts more accessible to the public.


Harold Rogers, Kentucky, chairman
Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama
Martha Roby, Alabama
Steve Womack, Arkansas
Ken Calvert, California
David Valadao, California
Ander Crenshaw, Florida
Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida
Tom Rooney, Florida
Tom Graves, Georgia
Jack Kingston, Georgia
Michael K. Simpson, Idaho
Tom Latham, Iowa
Kevin Yoder, Kansas
Andy Harris, M.D., Maryland
Alan Nunnelee, Mississippi
Jeff Fortenberry, Nebraska
Mark Amodei, Nevada
Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey
David Joyce, Ohio
Tom Cole, Oklahoma
Charles W. Dent, Pennsylvania
Chuck Fleischmann, Tennessee
John R. Carter, Texas
John Abney Culberson, Texas
Kay Granger, Texas
Chris Stewart, Utah
Frank R. Wolf, Virginia
Jaime Herrera Beutler, Washington


Ed Pastor, Arizona
Sam Farr, California
Michael M. Honda, California
Barbara Lee, California
Lucille Roybal-Allard, California
Adam B. Schiff, California
Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut
Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Florida
Sanford D. Bishop, Jr., Georgia
Mike Quigley, Illinois
Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana
Chellie Pingree, Maine
Betty McCollum, Minnesota
Nita M. Lowey, New York
Bill Owens, New York
José E. Serrano, New York
David E. Price, North Carolina
Marcy Kaptur, Ohio
Tim Ryan, Ohio
Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania
Henry Cuellar, Texas
James P. Moran, Virginia