NASAA 2018 Leadership Awards Nominations

Nominations for NASAA’s 2018 Leadership Awards are no longer being accepted. Please stay tuned for announcement of the Leadership Award winners.


The NASAA Leadership Awards program recognizes exemplary leadership and showcases the best practices of state arts agencies (SAAs) and regional arts organizations (RAOs). All NASAA members are strongly encouraged to submit nominations.

Nominations must be received by July 20, 2018. Nomination materials are available at the links below.

Distinguished Public Service Award

This award honors an individual whose outstanding service, energy, creative thinking and leadership have had a significant impact on public support for the arts in his/her state or region.

Eligibility and Submission

Gary Young Award

This award recognizes an executive director who has made a significant contribution to public support for the arts in his/her state or region. Ideal candidates exhibit exemplary leadership, innovative thinking, and a long-standing, sustained commitment to public support for the arts and dedication to diverse artistic expression.

Eligibility and Submission

  • All current and past SAA and RAO executive directors are eligible.
  • Nominations may be made by any SAA staff or council member, or any RAO staff or council member.
  • Download the Gary Young Award nomination materials.

If you have questions, please contact Katie Hughes at or 202-347-6352 x108.